Purging Transaction Data from the EZTeller Database

Purging Transaction Data from the EZTeller Database

The purge feature removes transactions from the EZTeller database, which helps to reduce the size of the database.


Warning: The database purge should only be performed by the database administrator.

  • Always back up your database prior to purging information.
  • Never run the purge feature while users are logged onto EZTeller or Superview.
  • Do not cancel a purge after it has started.
  • Keep in mind that the purge uses a lot of server resources, so perform this process when there are no other jobs running on the SQL server.
 
  1. On the SQL server, perform a backup of the EZTeller database. Refer to your SQL Server user's manual.
  2. In Superview, log in with an administrator authority level 20 role.
  3. Select the holding company as your working group.
  4. From the drop-down menu select System > Database Maintenance > Purge Database.
  5. Select EZTeller Data from the menu.
  6. Type a date prior to the date you want data to be purged or click the Select Date button and choose a date on the calendar that is displayed.

Note: If the data has never been purged, you should purge in steps, for example, one year increments, from before January 1, 2003. After that is completed, purge data from before January 1, 2004, and so on.

  1. Select All EZTeller transactions that occurred before the purge date, click OK. 
  2. The Database Purge screen appears. Read the screen and make sure the correct data and branches are listed on the screen.
  3. If you want to continue with the purge, click Yes. The data will be purged. If not, click No, and you will return to the Database Purge screen. 
  4. Repeat steps 6-9 as needed.

ArticleNumber:

000044748