Purging Inactive and Expired Alerts in Special Account Monitor (SAM)

Purging Inactive and Expired Alerts in Special Account Monitor (SAM)

When SAM alerts are deleted or expire the information becomes unavailable to users but it remains on the database. The database purge feature will remove the records from the database.

Note: The SAM database purge feature will purge only expired accounts, deleted accounts and alerts. You cannot accidentally remove active accounts and alerts.


Print the SAM reports and perform a backup on the EZTeller database before purging deleted and expired records.

 

Note: Never run the purge feature when users are logged onto EZTeller or Superview. Do not cancel a purge after it has started.

 

On the SQL server:

Have your database administrator perform a backup of the EZTeller database on your SQL server. Refer to your SQL Server user's manual.

 

In Superview:

  1. Log onto Superview using an administrator authority level 20 role.
  2. Select the bank as your working group.
  3. Go to Reporting > Reports and select the SAM tab.
  4. Select the Expired Alerts Report. Print the report or export the data to a file. Exit the Reports program and return to the Superview main screen.
  5. Select System > Database Maintenance > Purge Database.
  6. Select SAM Data from the menu.
  7. Type a purge date prior to the date you want SAM data to be purged or click on the Select Date button and select a date from the calendar.

Note: You must select a date that is at least 45 calendar days prior to the current calendar date. If the SAM data has never been purged, purge in increments.

  1. Select the appropriate box(es) under SAM Data. You can select one, two, or all three options. To clear a check mark from a box, select it again. Click OK.
  2. The Database Purge screen appears. Read the screen and make sure the correct data and branch(es) are listed on the screen. 
  3. If you want to continue with the purge, click Yes. The data is purged. If not, click No, and you will return to the SAM Data Purge screen.
  4. Repeat steps 4-7 until all deleted and expired alerts are purged.  

ArticleNumber:

000047121